Rules & Nomination

The Best Toilet Award of the Bay (Award) awards distinguished toilet spaces in the Bay Area, California. Only toilet spaces (restrooms/washrooms) in the Bay Area (Counties include Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, Sonoma, and San Francisco, respectively) that are commercially used are eligible for consideration under this Award. Toilet spaces affiliated with the Award are not eligible for consideration. 

Selecting Process

Nomination Period

~ December 5, 2021

Anyone can nominate a toilet space in the Bay Area for entry in the Award. The deadline of entry is December 5, 2021 at 12:00 a.m. PDT. Individuals may nominate a toilet space by going to (the nomination page of this website) to enter information.

Each entry must be suitable for a general audience and cannot contain any commercial content or any disparaging or other inappropriate content. The Award reserves the right to disqualify any entry that violates the foregoing restrictions, as determined by the Award in its sole discretion. 

Finalist Selection 

December 6 - 27, 2021

The Award committee of judges including representatives of hospitality and health-related backgrounds will evaluate all qualifying entries to select up to twelve (12) toilet spaces as finalists based on the following criteria: (a) cleanliness; (b) creativity; (c) elements of four senses (sight, touch, smell, and hearing); and (d) accessibility. All scores consist of scales from one (1, meet the least criterium) to ten (10, meet the most criterium.) All decisions of the committee are final.

Public Vote

December 29, 2021 -

January 28, 2022

Between the one-month period (December 29, 2021 at 12:00 a.m. PDT and January 28, 2022 at 12:00 a.m. PDT), all individuals may vote on the Award website for their favorite toilet space from among the finalists. During the Public Vote period, an individual may vote as often as the individual likes. Individuals may select the category (Best Cleanliness, Best Creativity, Best of 5 Senses, Best Family-Friendly, Best Positivity, and Best of Napa Valley) for their favorite toilet space. The The use of software or other automated processes to submit multiple votes is prohibited and notes submitted by such means with e disqualified and disregarded. All results are unofficial until verified by the Award. 

Winner Announcement 

Febuary 4, 2022 

The votes by the public will gather, and the result will allow the Award to select one (1) toilet space per category as the Best of the category of the Bay. The winners will be announced on February 4, 2022. All decisions of Sponsor in declaring the winners are finals. The owners of the winning toilet spaces (a total of six representing the six categories) will be notified by the Award. 

The winner list will be posted to the Award website on this date after confirmation.

Award Ceremony and Prizes

Febuary 19, 2022

The Award Ceremony will be hosted on February 19, 2022. Details of the venue and time will be announced on the Award website. The owners of the six (6) winning toilet spaces will receive the trophies of the Best Toilet Award of the Bay on the date. The Award will also draw out five (5) individuals who entered the Nomination period and the Public Vote period for five (5) prizes that will be announced. The selected individuals will be notified through mail/email address or phone number, as determined by the Award. 

Terms and Conditions

The Award reserves the right to modify these Official Rules, including any of above dates, if the Award deems such modification necessary to ensure fairness and/or preserve the spirit or goals of the Award. Neither the Award nor the Award affiliates make or offer any warranty or guarantee inconnection with this Award or any prize. Prize details and availability are subject to change, in which case prize of equal value may be substituted at the Award's sole discretion. Prizes consist only of the items are non-transferable. If a potential winner cannot be contacted, fails to timely claim the prize, is disqualified, fails to timely execute and return any required forms, or if the prize notification is returned as undeliverable, and alternate winner will be selected from amongthe other eligible finalists. By entering the Award, you agree that the Award has the absolute right and permission to publish your entry on the website and the to broadcast, publish, or otherwise use your entry without limitation, review, approval, or compensation to you. The Award is not responsible for the entraints release each from any failures of any kind which may either limit the entrant's ability to submit an entry, claim a prize, or otherwise execute this Award in the manner intended. Other terms: Decisions of the Award/ the Award committee on all matters related to the Award are final. The Award reserves the right to cancel or modify the Award for any reason, including but not limited to misconduct or technical failures destroy the integrity of the Award, or other technical problem corrupts the proper administration of the Award. The Award reserves the right to disqualify or prohibit the participation of an individual if fraud or tampering is suspected, or if the individual fails to comply with any requirement of participation or with any provision in these Official Rules. Any attempt to deliberately damage or undermine the operation of this Award is a violation of criminal and civial laws. The Award reserves the right to disqualify and/or seek damages from any individual making any such attempts to the full extent permitted by law.